The asking price of a historic ferry house just outside of London is £2.25 million, or roughly $2.8 million.
According to a representative for real estate firm Dexters, the former ferry house on the River Thames was transformed into a four-bedroom house in 2016 and comes with a boat house and a private mooring.
According to a press release from Dexters, it boasts an open-plan reception, kitchen, and dining space as well as a patio and terrace outside with views of the river.
According to the press announcement, the house is situated in Sunbury hamlet, about a 45-minute train ride from central London.
The four-bedroom house gained notoriety because to the “Oliver Twist” novel by Charles Dickens.
The history of the house is very interesting.
Although the building is believed to be older, portions of the original property date back to 1890, according to a Dexters spokeswoman.
Even though the spokesman claimed they couldn’t “pinpoint the exact date of initial construction,” the ferry house would have existed in the 1830s because it was a setting in Charles Dickens’ 1938 bestseller “Oliver Twist,” which featured the ferry house.
The time reached seven as they passed Sunbury Church. According to a press release from Dexters, chapter 21 of the book begins, “There was a light in the ferry-house window opposite: it poured across the road and put into more dismal darkness a dark yew-tree with graves beneath it.
The ferry building served many purposes until being transformed in 2017 into a dwelling.
After it ceased being used as a ferry house in 1907, the property served a variety of functions, the spokesperson claimed. Wilson’s Boatyard, a family-run enterprise that ran a ferry and rented out boats to the general public, set up shop on the land, they noted.
According to the speaker, the business also had expertise in making boats, particularly navy lifeboats for use in World War II.
According to the spokesman, the building was expanded in the 1920s and additional flats, offices, and storage spaces were added. They stated that the buildings’ businesses and flats had been in operation up until 2015 before being abandoned until the present owners started turning them into houses in 2017.
They noted that the project was finished in 2018.
Five rooms were transformed into the living and eating areas that are open to one another.
According to the spokesman, the open-plan living, dining, and kitchen were created from five rooms. It includes wide glass doors that open to a patio outside with sweeping river views.
The original ceilings were taken down by the owners to reveal the steel beams above.
The spokeswoman added skylights to the space, which added additional lighting, she said.
According to the press release, the home features four bedrooms, two of which have en suite bathrooms.
According to the spokesperson, the master bedroom boasts a walk-in closet, an en suite bathroom, and access to a balcony with a view of the river.
There are four bathrooms in all on the property.
The house features the rooms shown, as well as a study “that could easily serve as a fifth bedroom,” according to the press release. The press announcement notes that there is a garage and a utility room as well.